Local SportsNews

Sports Residential School Sanctioned To Dharwad

DHARWAD: In a bid to give ample opportunities for students to excel in sports, The State government has sanctioned four residential sports schools in the State, including one for Dharwad district.

The government has issued an order declaring Morarji Desai Residential School (MRDS) at Hebballi in Dharwad taluk as sports residential schools.

According to the order, MRDS in Holalkere in Chitradurga district, MRDS at Beltangady in Dakshina Kannada, and MRDS in Raichur would also be upgraded as residential sports schools.

A team of experts at the State-level toured the MRDSs across Belagavi, Kalaburgi, Bengaluru and Mysuru divisions. The committee had studied the water facility, open space available to form a playground, climatic condition, and the compound wall. Subsequently, the committee had shortlisted four schools in each division which had the advantage of getting upgraded to sports residential schools.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button