Countdown Begins for Modi’s Swearing-in Ceremony, Kharge to Attend

HUBBALLI, June 9: Countdown has begun for PM-designate Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony as it will take place at 7:15 pm on Sunday, June 9.

Modi will be the first person after former Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru to be elected as Prime Minister for the third consecutive term. Alongside PM Modi, members of his council of ministers will also take their oath on the same day.

Congress party chief and Rajya Sabha’s opposition leader Mallikarjun Kharge will attend the oath-taking ceremony. A statement from the Congress said a day after Kharge received the invite.

President Draupadi Murmu will administer the oath of office at 7:15 p.m. Due to the large number of dignitaries, security has been increased around Rashtrapati Bhawan and in the national capital.

Several leaders from neighbouring countries and other nations will join the swearing in ceremony. Those who have reached in Delhi to attend the ceremony are: Sri Lanka President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Maldives President Mohamed Muizzu, Prime Minister of Bangladesh Sheikh Hasina, Vice-President of Seychelles Ahmed Afif, Prime Minister of Bhutan Tshering Tobgay, Prime Minister of Nepal Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda’, Prime Minister of Mauritius Pravind Kumar Jugnauth.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button