Local Sports


HUBBALLI: South-Western Railway (SWR) won the 59th all-India railway aquatic championship which concluded at the HDMC swimming pool here on Wednesday.

Hosting a national-level railway swimming competition for the first time, the SWR won the trophy with 153 points, securing six gold, 12 silver, and 13 bronze medals. Western Railway became the runners-up with 132 points.

Western Railway won the first prize in diving and water polo, while Aron D’Souza of western Railway won the individual championship.

“We expected a tough competition, and our swimmers were trained in Bengaluru,” said SWR swimming coach Thomas Chavla.

Please follow and like us:

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button